Staying Fresh in a Changing World

This week I wanted to do a Q&A on The blog for photographers, about Things all of you have doubts about. I received a lot of questions related to branding and how to stay on top of a changing market. So I decided to simply talk about my process to update my branding and keep it in line with who I am.

Of course, this is just advice, I am in no way saying I am an expert but if I can help in any way 🙂

My personal experience with my brand has been quite entertaining, I am a marketing and advertising freak. It is what I majored in so it’s something I love. When it comes to my own branding I have always wanted to make it very personalized and have it feel a lot like me. From my logo, to my website and finally my blog. I am a firm believer you should update your website every year to a year and a half. I think it’s important to stay fresh and always be living in the times. You don’t want to have a website that looks like it’s stuck in the 2000’s.

I think the best way to do this is to always look at it with fresh eyes and get input from your peers. This helps a lot. Sit down with a group of friends and your images in an IPAD or my favorite (printed) and have them throw adjectives at you. Play a game of “describe What you feel” and write down their words. Once you start to see a pattern you will find what your images and style are all about, pick the top two or three key words and use this to start developing the message you want to convey with your logo and website.

From there go on Pinterest and get pinning on everything that inspires you. What makes you feel something. This is super helpful in finding the overall feel and look of your website. Especially with colors. Here is an example of my Branding Board for my latest rebranding:

20140401-233104.jpg

20140401-233111.jpg

I pinned like crazy and I found the pattern, the things I pinned the most. I made the exercise for around three days and when I looked back at my board I could see the line I was going in. This helped immensely for when I decided to start on my new logo. And you can see the reflection of what I pinned and my final work.

20140401-233530.jpg

It’s all about commitment 🙂 there are some amazing designers out there than can help you achieve the look and feel you want.

Some of my favorites are:

Promise Tangeman
Velvet Ink Media
Hey Sweet Pea

Just start getting inspired and find the voice you want to hear. Insert yourself into your branding creation and make it about you and who you are. Then you will be able to look at your pictures and see it too. One thing leads to the other.

xoxo
Stay Inspired,

Vanessa

20140401-233955.jpg

20140401-234017.jpg

20140401-234030.jpg

20140401-234043.jpg

20140401-235006.jpg

Leave a Reply

